Tariffs & Trade Policy Shake the Wisconsin Agriculture Community

Recent trade policy changes are having a significant affect on Wisconsin farmers. The U.S. imposed Tariffs on goods from China and other trading partners, and those countries have retaliated with tariffs on U.S. goods. Some of the first American goods to be impacted are Midwestern crops and meat.

Lawmakers from both sides of the aisle are vocal with their concerns about the tariffs and how they could hurt American agriculture. In response, President Trump announced plans to make $12 billion in government assistance available to farmers. This includes direct payments to the producers of dairy and soybeans.

The President urges farmers to be patient and give the tariffs time to work. He believes that his hard ball tactics are the only way to achieve better trade policy in the long term. He also points to China’s theft of intellectual property as a reason to keep the tariffs in place.

If you have questions about how the tariffs or trade policy will affect your business, please contact your local agribusiness expert at KerberRose Certified Public Accountants:

• Shawano – Don Pedersen don.pedersen@kerberrose.com
• Clintonville – Brian Lange, brian.lange@kerberrose.com
• Antigo – Bobbie Bastle, bobbie.bastle@kerberrose.com or Erik Bunnell, erik.bunnell@kerberrose.com
• Stevens Point – Sue Wille, sue.wille@kerberrose.com
• Wausau – Kelly Nolan, Kelly.nolan@kerberrose.com
• Oshkosh – Ken Wolf, ken.wolf@kerberrose.com or Melanie Stellmacher, Melanie.stellmacher@kerberrose.com

Steve Grover

About the Author

Steve Grover
Steve has more than ten years of public accounting experience providing accounting and consulting services to small to medium size businesses. He also provides tax planning and compliance services to businesses and individuals.

Comments are closed.

From The Blog